This week’s issue of the NU News has a pretty good article about the biking situation in Boston. I’m glad to see that there are steps being taken, and clearly there are numerous different groups involved in the development of a biking infrastructure. However, I still sometimes worry that after all is said and done, a lot of these well intentioned changes won’t make much of a difference. It takes more than bike lanes and added bike racks to change the way people think about urban cycling.

It seems to me that the best way to develop a city-wide initiative is for everyone who has considered cycling to work, school, or just for fun, to get out and do it. It is equally important for the cycling community, members new and old, to show their presence now as it will be when the lanes get added. Simply by being present on the city’s streets, cyclists are seen, and only after time and determination will the general mindset begin to embrace bike riders on the shared roads. I’ve had equally as many close calls riding in the shoulder near the “share the road sign” outside of Porter Square as I have while riding in a generously sized bike lane over the Mass Ave bridge.

I accidentally hit “publish” yesterday as I was leaving work rather than “save”, so this is the completion of an unfinished thought. Sorry to rant, I swore to myself that I wouldn’t let this become a negative reflection of one of my greatest daily pleasures.

Be safe out there.

