sausage & zucchini

Granted the photos may not do justice to dinner last night, but it’s all i could think about riding home last night; I even got home 5 minutes quicker than usual. My mom gave me this recipe a long while ago, and only recently have I re-discovered the awe-inspiring powers of italian sausage and zucchini. This is my most requested meal from Emily, who has adopted the recipe for herself. It couldn’t be simpler or tastier, but be warned: this will quite possibly be the least specific recipe you’ll ever read, but you’ll get the idea. Enjoy after the jump.

All you’ll need is:

1 lb. sweet italian sausage
4 medium zucchinis
1 can of tomato sauce
basil, oregano, crushed red pepper
3 cloves of garlic
salt & pepper
olive oil
pasta of your choice (I like penne or ziti)

Start off by heating up some olive oil in a med/large saute pan, and crush the garlic. Once the oil has heated, brown the sausage after removing from its casing. This used to be quite a laborious task for me, but I’ve begun to get the hang of it. There’s more than one way to skin a sausage, but I’ve found its easiest to work the sausage out of the opening at the end of the links.

sausage

zucchini

While the sausage is cooking, wash and cut your zucchini into hearty sized chunks. I like to make them big enough to keep a bit of texture to them after being cooked, but not so big you need a pesky knife. Remember to stir the meat around and add some salt as it is cooking. Once the meat seems to be mostly cooked through, add your zucchini and all of the tomato sauce. I usually use canned tomato sauce and spice to taste, adding oregano, basil, and plenty of red pepper flakes, but of course you can use jarred pasta sauce as long as you have found one you trust. After making sure you’ve stirred everything around so that the tomato sauce is all over everything, cover the saute pan. At this point, I usually pour a glass of wine, get the pasta water boiling, and get started on the dishes. Luckily, this meal is pretty streamlined as far as dirty dish generation is concerned. After about a glass of wine, the zucchini should be tender, and your pasta should have a perfect bite.

Grate some parmesan on the top, pour another glass of wine, and dig in! See, I told you, a terribly written recipe, but you don’t need me to hold your hand, do you?

