It’s not really bad news yet, but it’s a precursor to bad news. Jacquie did some more tests today since some of my symptoms have been getting better, while some have been persisting and/or getting worse.  Turns out I need to go get an MRI to check for a meniscal tear.  She and I had talked about the possibility of a small tear in my meniscus last month, but after having made great progress on the patella tendinitis, the meniscal symptoms stand out even more.  I spent most of this morning on the phone finding an orthopedic surgeon who could see me in the near part of the near future (somehow I wrangled a 9am appointment on Monday) and jumping through hoops trying to get a referral in place.  After the jump I’ve included my progress report from Jacquie, which is full of medical shorthand, some of which makes logical sense, some of which does not.  Anyone out there able to read between the lines?

The good news…even if I do have a torn meniscus, bikers don’t get them, joggers do; and therefore biking is permissable during my recovery, but jogging will take some time to get back into.  Slow and steady wins the race.

wha?

wha?

