My second opinion doctor agreed with the first opinion.  That makes 3-2; 3 medical professions who think that the problem is solely weak quads and strained patella tendons / IT band vs 2 medical professions who think there is a small tear in my meniscus.  Good news?!  I guess we’ll just trudge along working on quad strengthening and loosing up some exhausted tissue in my legs.  As a part of this process, I’ll be receiving doses of dexamethasone via iontophoresis.  Don’t know what either of those things are?  That makes two of us, so let’s do some learning:

from the always accurate, never skewed Wikipedia:

Iontophoresis is a non-invasive method of propelling high concentrations of a charged substance, normally medication or bioactive agents, transdermally by repulsive electromotive force using a small electrical charge applied to an iontophoretic chamber containing a similarly charged active agent and its vehicle.

Still confused?

To clarify, one or two chambers are filled with a solution containing an active ingredient and its solvent, termed the vehicle. The positively charged chamber, termed the anode will repel a positively charged chemical, while the negatively charged chamber, termed the cathode, will repel a negatively charged chemical into the skin.

Ooooooooh, now it’s crystal clear.  What’s that you say?  You think that sounds a lot like a transdermal patch?  “Unlike transdermal patches, this method relies on active transportation within an electric field. In the presence of an electric field electromigration and electroosmosis are the dominant forces in mass transport”

So that’s ionto, the process, but what about Dexamethason,  the actual drug I’ll be receiving into my body via electrodes and wizardry?  Well, it’s an anti-inflammatory which packs 60 times the punch of a cortizone shot.  I’ll be attaching the negatively charged pad to my patella tendon, directly below my left knee, and the positive charge will be on a pad stuck to my left thigh.  This is, without a doubt,  the strangest thing I’ve ever had my body hooked up to, and it’s too soon to tell the breadth of the benefits yet.

Still curioius about dexamethason or iontophoresis?  (I know you are)  Turns out a Polish cross country skiier was disqualified and issued a 2 year suspension for her doping use of dexamethasone back in 2004.  Uhhh?

