I just got back from my first time swimming in almost two years.  I’m hoping to keep the strain on my knees to a minimum, and I totally forgot how exhausting swimming laps is.  I can’t tell if my knees are sore yet because everything is sore.  My legs were bouncy as I walked back out to the parking lot, and right now my fingers are complaining that they’ve worked hard enough today, why do they now have to type?  I walked over to the Sterling Center Y to get a membership last night, and am very impressed with their faciliities.  The pool is really 2.5 pools, in an L shape.  They have free laps in the mornings on the long portion of the L, laps with a coach on the smaller straightaway, and freeswim in the square on the corner.

The only other lap swimming experience I have is from a few years ago at Northeastern.  It was so luxurious, for $50 I had access to the pool, a coach 3 mornings a week, and never once shared a lane.  This morning I shared my lane with a really nice 60+ gentleman who chatted with me about how busy it was, and even though  it was cold, what a beautiful morning it is.  I agreed, and then proceeded to have my ass handed to me.  Slow and steady, I kept trying to think, I naturally try to swim to hard and fast, and get tired before I even finish one lap.  This guy had slow and steady down pat.  This unassuming guy slowly and steadily swam lap after lap after lap.  But I suppose those lifers are the same ones passing me when I’m jogging by the Charles, or biking down Mass Ave.  If my knees will keep up, I just hope I can keep going long enough to impress a 20-something in 2050.

