When I began this blog way back in March, I never really took into consideration what I would write about during the winter months.  Granted there are many folks who ride through the winter, and to them my helmet is off.  But me, once the freezing rain starts falling, I bring my steed inside, give it one last wash for the season, and retire myself to my indoor trainer.  Knee injury aside, I probably wouldn’t be riding right now anyway, so what to write about?  I could weave a tale about how exciting it is getting up early, watching the news on mute and putting in a few miles before work…but I’ll spare you.

In PT related news, I’m only going once every week or two, just checking in with Jacquie as we slowly build my quads without flaring up my patella tendon.  I’ve been swimming, which is kicking my ass.  I thought that being a reasonably in-shape person would transfer to being able to swim pretty well of f the bat, but this is no where near truth.  I can barely swim freestyle down and back without stopping, and feel sore in muscles I didn’t really even know I was using.  The instep of my feet, my fingers, and pretty much every muscle that has gotten lazy on the upper half of my body.  Basically I’m planning to keep doing what I’m doing until spring.  Biking on the trainer will keep those muscles in use, and swimming is helping me mentally.  I was getting a bit antsy and stir crazy not being able to bike or jog, so until the snow melts, I will just stick with what seems to be working right now.

